Juvenile/Under 21 DUI

The state of California has instituted a zero tolerance policy regarding DUI offenders under the age of 21. Any person under the age of 21 arrested for DUI with a BAC level of even .01% will be dealt with very severely.

The California Vehicle Code Section 23136 states that for any BAC level of .01% a driver under the age of 21 will lose their license for up to 1 year. Under California Vehicle Code Section 23140, a BAC level of .05% or greater will merit a mandatory alcohol education/rehabilitation program in addition to the driver's license suspension for 1 year. Under California Vehicle Code Section 23152, a BAC level of .08% or greater a driver may be charged with a felony which is punishable by imprisonment, fines, driver's license suspension, community service, probation, and more.

The above consequences are in addition to those charges faced by a driver over the age of 21. Just imagine if your teen daughter or son was convicted of a DUI and had to spend time in jail. How would this affect his or her chances of going to college? A skilled Fresno DUI attorney can help solve your son or daughter’s criminal case, attacking the validity of the DUI charge first and foremost.

A Fresno DUI attorney can also work with the DMV on your family’s behalf with regard to any license suspensions. Many teens and young adults need their driving privileges to get to school, work, and help out with their families. A Fresno DUI attorney can petition the DMV to reinstate some driving privileges out of a specific offender’s need; this is referred to as a critical need license.

If your child or young adult under the age of 21 has been arrested for DUI in the Fresno area, contact the Fresno DUI attorney for an immediate consultation.